Sunday, 26 January 2014 13:56

Acharya Pad

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Acharya is celebrated on the third day of Navapad Oli as the leader of the four-fold Sangh established by the Arihant. 

The Sangh consists of monks, nuns, and male and female household followers. 

After Arihant, Acharya is the decision-making authority in


all the matters related to Sangha.  He is also the final authority in interpreting the Jain Holy Scriptures. 

Acharya observes and motivates monks and nuns to display five spiritual conducts, namely

  • Knowledge
  • Faith
  • Conduct
  • Penance
  • Vigor, enthusiasm and power to observe the other four conducts. 

Acharya is symbolised by the colour yellow and has thirty-six attributes. 

These attributes are divided into different groups.

The six external austerities consist of

  • Not eating for a set period of time
  • Eating less than needed
  • Eating within predetermined restrictions of
    • Material (Eat only a specified number of items),
    • Area (Eat only in a certain area).
    • Time (Eat only once at a specific time) and
    • mode (Eat food obtained or made only by prescribed means)
    • Eating non-tasty food 
  • Penance and tolerating physical pain voluntarily
  • Staying in a deserted place and occupying minimum space. 

The six internal austerities consist of

  • Repentance or remorse
  • Humility and respect for others
  • Selfless service to monks, nuns and people in need  
  • Study of Holy Scriptures
  • Meditation
  • Giving up physical activities and staying absorbed in the soul

The ten religious virtues are

  • Forgiveness
  • Humility
  • Straightforwardness
  • Contentment and absence of greed
  • Truth
  • Restraint of all senses
  • Austerities
  • Renunciation
  • Renouncing possessiveness  
  • Celibacy

The five codes of conduct are

  • Acquiring the right perception  
  • Acquiring right knowledge
  • Acquiring right conduct
  • Austerities
  • Exercising Energy or Vigour

The six essential duties are

  • Prayer to Tirthankars or Arihant
  • Devotion and service to Gurus
  • Studying of Scriptures
  • Self-restraint
  • Penance
  • Imparting Knowledge and Protection of Life

The three controls are

  • Control over mind
  • Control over speech
  • Control over body

On this day followers eat boiled gram only, and pray, worship and meditate for Acharya all day.


Read 3118 times Last modified on Friday, 14 February 2014 07:27
Elsabe Smit

Elsabe Smit is a well-known author, clairvoyant, and public speaker.

Elsabe helps people to understand the mysteries of life and Love, so that they can regain control of their lives. What would you like to resolve?

More in this category: « Siddha Pad Upadhyaya »

K2Store Currency

£ R $

Latest Reviews

  • L - UK
    I thought Elsabe was wonderful on the show today-Her text answer was extremely accurate-I have…
  • Shaken
    I have just had a reading and am left shaken - absolutely amazed and will…
Go to top